Screen Archives Entertainment Screen Archives Entertainment    
   Home  Shipping Rates  Order Info  Contact Us  Links  Change Style
  search tips
   [log in]   [new customer?]  [join mailing list]

Site Security
provided by

Our Price: $19.95
Bookmark and Share
Number: KR200281

Composed by: Leigh Harline

Sample Tracks
Name Number
Sunrise Hills (Main Title) 01
Poisoned Cattle / Matt’s Death 03
Isabel’s Despair 06
Criminal Attack 08
Mr. Pennpacker (Main Title) 15
At the Station 19
Philadelphia Visit 22
Play All Tracks

The Twentieth Century Fox film No Down Payment takes a look at life in California suburbia circa 1957, both its surface and its underbelly. No Down Payment was Martin Ritt’s second movie directorial effort – he assembled a great cast, including Joanne Woodward, Sheree North, Tony Randall (in an atypical unsympathetic role), Jeffrey Hunter, Cameron Mitchell, Barbara Rush and Pat Hingle. The screenplay was credited to Philip Yordan, even though it was actually written by then-blacklisted writer Ben Maddow. The movie is a beautifully acted slice of post World War II drama, well directed by Ritt and wonderfully scored by composer Leigh Harline.

Beginning with a bustling main title filled with the promise of suburban living, it introduces us to the world of Sunrise Hills. But soon Harline begins introducing undercurrents into his score, undercurrents that will soon turn from idyllic to dramatic. It’s a superb score from a master co

mposer who really understood the film medium. Two years later, Fox released The Remarkable Mr. Pennypacker. Directed by Fox regular Henry Levin and shot in Cinemascope by Milton Krasner, the film starred Clifton Webb, Dorothy McGuire, Charles Coburn, Jill St. John, Ron Ely, David Nelson, Larry Gates and Richard Deacon. Once again, Leigh Harline was the composer. For Pennypacker, Harline created a delightful and tuneful score, never pandering to the comedy and helping to give the film a dramatic underpinning. It’s a charming score and a Harline highlight from a career filled with wonderful scores, including Pickup on South Street, Broken Lance, Black Widow, House of Bamboo, The Girl in the Red Velvet Swing, Good Morning, Miss Dove, The Bottom of the Bottle, 23 Paces to Baker Street, The Wayward Bus and many others.

This is the world premiere release of these two Harline scores. They have been restored from the original elements in the Fox vault and both are in that great Fox stereo. While every effort has been made to make this release as good as possible, there are a handful of cues with minor damage, but nothing that would warrant leaving them off the CD. - KRITZERLAND


1. Sunrise Hills (Main Title) 2. New Home 3. Poisoned Cattle / Matt’s Death 4. No Down Payment 5. New Day Coming / Frustration 6. Isabel’s Despair 7. Escape 8. Criminal Attack 9. Jean’s Story 10. David and Jean 11. Leola’s Bitterness / Finale 12. Main Title (alternate) 13. Tucson (Hugo Friedhofer) 14. No Down Payment (reprise)

Music Composed and Conduced by Leigh Harline
Conducted by Lionel Newman


15. Mr. Pennpacker (Main Title) 16. Harrisburg / Young Love 17. Marriage Plans 18. The Letter / Progress 19. At the Station 20. Introduction / Mr. Pennypacker 21. Double Vision 22. Philadelphia Visit 23. Skating / The Jurors 24. Denial 25. Mr. Pennypacker (End Title)

Music Composed by Leigh Harline
Conducted by Lionel Newman

Reviews and Comments: (0)
All times US Eastern   |   login to post your own review or comments.
There are no reviews or comments yet. Log in or register to post your own reviews or comments.
  Your cart is empty.
© 2017 Screen Archives Entertainment