Screen Archives Entertainment Screen Archives Entertainment    
   Home  Shipping Rates  Order Info  Contact Us  Links  Change Style
  search tips
   [log in]   [new customer?]  [join mailing list]

Site Security
provided by


Our Price: $59.95
Bookmark and Share
Number: OOPFSM0310

No. Tracks: 22

Beneath the 12-Mile Reef (1953)
Limited Edition of 3,000 copies.
Composed by: Bernard Herrmann


View CD Page at FSM Site (More Details)

Film composers don't come any more legendary or unique than Bernard Herrmann. For the first time ever collectors have the opportunity to hear his groundbreaking score to Beneath the 12-Mile Reef (1953) in stereo from the original session masters.

Herrmann's music is unique for its gorgeous, atmospheric evocation of the film's underwater photography, with nine harps (each playing a separate part) grounding the sublimely Herrmannesque sea-soundscapes—from gentle currents to rippling waves to crashing terror. The score also includes jaunty maritime melodies, heartfelt string writing (a la The Ghost and Mrs. Muir), crashing action music and the proto-minimalist traveling patterns of "The Marker"—which later became the jetpack music in Lost in Space—all culminating in the primal aggression of "The Octopus."

A suite from 12-Mile Reef was recorded in the early 1970s for the Herrmann entry of RCA's Classic Film Scores series—now, get the complete chronological score, in stereo, as conducted by Herrmann for the film. Please note that the master tapes have sustained some deterioration and that there is minor "wow" present; these masters are all that survive of the score and we trust that aficionados will appreciate having them in the best condition possible.

track list

    Beneath the 12-Mile Reef

    Music Composed and Conducted by Bernard Herrmann

  1. The Sea 1:27
  2. The Undersea/The Boat 3:36
  3. The Homecoming 1:03
  4. The Reef 1:17
  5. The Glades 1:02
  6. The Quiet Sea/The Airline 2:39
  7. The Conch Boat/The Harbor 1:23
  8. The Search 1:36
  9. Flirtation 2:16
  10. The Departure 0:51
  11. The Marker 3:59
  12. The Undersea Forest 4:48
  13. Elegy 2:43
  14. The Fire 1:04
  15. Sorrow/The Dock/Escape 4:43
  16. The Lagoon 2:34
  17. Consolation 3:09
  18. The Grave 2:05
  19. The New Boat/The Buoy/Descending/The Sea Garden 5:48
  20. The Octopus 3:34
  21. The Hookboat/The Fight 1:51
  22. Finale 0:59

Total time: 55:06

Real Audio may be required for audio clips.
Download it for free!
  Your cart is empty.
© 2014 Screen Archives Entertainment