Screen Archives Entertainment Screen Archives Entertainment    
   Home  Shipping Rates  Order Info  Contact Us  Links  Change Style
  search tips
   [log in]   [new customer?]  [join mailing list]

Site Security
provided by


Our Price: $19.95
Bookmark and Share
Number: FSM0512

The Gypsy Moths (1969)
Limited Edition of 3,000 Copies.
Composed by: Elmer Bernstein

View CD Page at FSM Site (More Details)

Released by Special Arrangement with Turner Classic Movies Music

When John Frankenheimer passed away in July 2002, he left a remarkable body of work including such admired films as The Manchurian Candidate, The Young Savages, Grand Prix, Sec onds and the recent Ronin. Frankenheimer excelled at telling human stories in action-based settings, and one of his best is The Gypsy Moths (1969). The film stars Burt Lancaster, Gene Hackman and Scott Wilson as barnstorming skydivers pa ssing through a Kansas town where Lancaster has an affair with a married woman played by Deborah Kerr. Although little seen, Frankenheimer regarded the film as amongst his two or three favorites, and the picture holds up as a quiet masterpiece of characte r and setting.

Elmer Bernstein's score to The Gypsy Moths is one of its strengths, emphasizing the characters' inner melancholy against the backdrop of nostalgic Americana. The robust, action-oriented cues for the skydiving sequences are obviou s highlights, with Bernstein boldly playing up the thrill of the jumps, the Americana horizons and the proximity to the heavens. But the score also excels in its achingly bittersweet softer cues, painted gently and with impeccable taste. All of the cues are linked by the tuneful, buoyant main title, somewhat in the style of True Grit, composed the same year.

FSM's premiere CD of The Gypsy Moths is entirely in stereo and features the complete underscore followed by the film's nightclub and march source cues. The liner notes provide insight on the production (including Bernstein's perspective) and explanation of the deleted and alternate cues.

track list

    Click on track TIME for MP3 sound clip. Click on track title (selected tracks only) for Real Audio.

    The Gypsy Moths

    Music Composed and Conducted by Elmer Bernstein

  1. Trio's Tricks with Banner 0:59
  2. Main Title 3:45
  3. Talk/Bridgeville 2:18
  4. Reunion 1:31
  5. Contact 1:55
  6. Sunset/To the Flame 2:16
  7. Into the Night 4:55
  8. And Later 2:29
  9. Big Stunt 3:22
  10. Mourning 1:12
  11. Malcolm's Feat/Going On 2:11

    Total Time: 27:13

    Nightclub Source

  12. Nightclub Rag 1:19
  13. Nightclub Rag (Alternate) 1:51
  14. J.B. No. 2 1:23
  15. J.B. No. 3 1:59
  16. The Grind 2:27
  17. Crazy Browdy 1:14
  18. Tassle Time 1:30
  19. Swampy Funky 1:20
  20. Funky Paradise 2:02
  21. Water Wings 2:26

    Total Time: 17:53

    March Source

  22. Soaring March 1:28
  23. P.A. Waltz 2:10
  24. March of the Moths 1:36
  25. P.A. No. 4 0:49
  26. P.A. No. 5 2:24
  27. That Old Black Cape of Mine 1:54
  28. Da Capo 2:29

    Total Time: 13:09

    Bonus Score

  29. Main Title (film version) 2:51

Total Disc Time: 61:08

Real Audio may be required for audio clips.
Download it for free!
Reviews and Comments: (0)
All times US Eastern   |   login to post your own review or comments.
There are no reviews or comments yet. Log in or register to post your own reviews or comments.
  Your cart is empty.
© 2017 Screen Archives Entertainment