Screen Archives Entertainment Screen Archives Entertainment    
   Home  Shipping Rates  Order Info  Contact Us  Links  Change Style
  search tips
   [log in]   [new customer?]  [join mailing list]

Site Security
provided by


Our Price: $24.95
Bookmark and Share
Number: FSM0804

633 Squadron/Submarine X-1 (1964/1969)
Limited Edition of 3,000 Copies.
Composed by: Ron Goodwin

View CD Page at FSM Site (More Details)

On the heels of FSM's release of Where Eagles Dare/Operation Crossbow (FSMCD Vol. 6, No. 21) comes another 2CD set of classic Ron Goodwin war soundtracks: 633 Squadron (1964) and Submarine X-1 (1969). Both of these films are United Artists releases of Allied missions (led by North American commanders) during World War II to attack Axis positions in Norweigian fjords—one by air, the other by sea.

633 Squadron is one of Ron Goodwin's finest war scores, with a magnificent "chattering brass" theme that captures the exultation of flight. (Goodwin ingeniously composed the theme to reflect the "633" of the title, with alternating bars of six and three beats.) The film stars Cliff Robertson as the leader of a squadron of Mosquito bombers, with George Chakiris his comrade operating behind enemy lines. Goodwin's score is full of action and triumph, as well as a love theme for the film's romantic subplot.

Submarine X-1 is a lesser-known production staring James Caan as the leader of three experimental midget submarines in a mission to sink a German battleship. The film is a no-nonsense "mission procedural" and the score features moody suspense and action for its underwater battles. Goodwin also provides a soaring, nautical British anthem amongst gentler moments, and his octatonic "underwater" colors will thrill fans of his distinctive adventure writing.

Disc one of this release features 633 Squadron: first the album program (as previously released on LP and CD, remastered for the best-possible stereo sound), followed by a suite of additional cues from a 1/4" monaural tape in Goodwin's possession. Disc two features the complete score of Submarine X-1 (minus one brief cue), mastered from Goodwin's personal 1/4" stereo tapes.

track list

    Click on track TIME for MP3 sound clip. Click on track title (selected tracks only) for Real Audio.

    Music Composed and Conducted by Ron Goodwin

    DISC ONE: 633 Squadron

  1. Main Title -- 633 Squadron 1:51
  2. Memories of Norway 2:54
  3. Love Theme 2:13
  4. The Attack Begins 3:06
  5. Murder Mission 4:31
  6. Crash Flight 3:04
  7. Love Theme 1:57
  8. Escape From Norway 3:20
  9. Peace and War 3:11
  10. Apprehension 4:35
  11. End Title -- Love Theme -- 633 Squadron 3:58
  12. Public House Jazz 2:54
  13. Bonus Suite 8:24

    Total Time: 46:36

    DISC TWO: Submarine X-1

  1. Main Title 4:39
  2. Secret Arrival 1:05
  3. Training Begins 5:41
  4. Quentin's Rescue/Quentin's Bolt/Bolt Hits Mirror 2:29
  5. Air Raid 1:10
  6. X-Craft Introduced/X-Craft Dives/X-3 Through Net 4:50
  7. X-3 Hits Net 2:50
  8. X-3 Recovered 1:10
  9. German Parachutist 2:00
  10. Defeat 1:03
  11. Bolton Defeats Parachutist 1:13
  12. Operation Jonah 1:36
  13. Jonah's Journey/Minefield 3:52
  14. X-1 Escapes 2:10
  15. Sognefjord 2:07
  16. E-Boat Patrol 3:53
  17. Depth Charge Attack 4:35
  18. Target Directly Above/Hesitation 1:55
  19. Homeward Bound -- End Titles 2:18

Total Time: 51:04

Real Audio may be required for audio clips.
Download it for free!
  Your cart is empty.
© 2014 Screen Archives Entertainment